skip to main content
College of Liberal Arts
University of Mississippi


Economics of Self-Interest

Jon Moen knows what motivates Wall Street decision makers MARCH 10, 2020 BY ABIGAIL MEISEL To truly understand the inner workings of Wall Street, look to the fundamentals of human nature, a University of Mississippi economist advises. “Just because the tech is more advanced now doesn’t mean that the people are more advanced,” said Jon Moen, […]

Ethan Edmondson’s scholarship memorializes Ole Miss student-athlete Joey Embry.

Embry Memorial Scholarship 2019 Recipient Named

With Award, Recipient Carries on Rebel’s Legacy NOVEMBER 8, 2019 BY EMILY REYNOLDS Ethan Edmondson, a University of Mississippi freshman from Vardaman, Mississippi, is the 2019 recipient of the Joey Embry Memorial Scholarship, expanding the legacy of a beloved student and football player. Joey Embry was actively involved on the Oxford campus and was dedicated […]

Brendan Ryan deepened his relationship to and interest in Chinese culture through eight months spent in Xi’an, China, funded by the Stamps Leadership Scholarship.

Cultivating Leaders: Brendan Ryan

OCTOBER 8, 2019 The Stamps Leadership Scholarship at the University of Mississippi has allowed me to find nontraditional paths to my education in the context of a traditional university. It has allowed me to take control of my education, both academically and personally. My freshman year, I took a leave of absence for eight months […]

Twenty University of Mississippi students interned in Eastern Asia this summer through a grant from the Freeman Foundation. Submitted photo

Freeman Foundation Grants Send UM Students to Other Side of the Globe

Grant supports 20 student internships in Eastern Asia AUGUST 19, 2019 BY SHEA STEWART Stretching from Beijing to Singapore, 20 University of Mississippi students received global work experience this summer while interning in Eastern Asia through a grant from the Freeman Foundation. Their roles this summer varied, from an accounting internship in Bangkok to a medical internship […]

Amarillo, Texas, native Kaden Spellmann credits the Stent Family Foundation’s Jose Luis de la Vega Scholarship as one of the reason he was able to attend the University of Mississippi and pursue a degree in economics. The rising sophomore is one of seven Ole Miss students supported by the scholarship given by Terry and Margaret Stent of Stone Mountain, GA, in memory of their nephew, Jose.

Students Receive Jose Luis de la Vega Scholarship

Impact of Stent Foundation JUNE 25, 2019 BY MARY STANTON KNIGHT Concern about college costs is understandably on the minds of both students and parents when deciding which university to attend. Thanks to the generous, continued support of the F.T. Stent Family Foundation, several University of Mississippi students are able to pursue their dreams with […]

The third volume of the University of Mississippi Undergraduate Research Journal, which spotlights undergraduate research at UM.

Third Volume of UM Undergraduate Research Journal Published

Student-led publication showcases undergraduate research JUNE 11, 2019 BY SHEA STEWART Taking a research idea from its initial question all the way to academic publication can be a daunting task for any university student. First comes the process of distilling the research question to its essential inquiry. Then there’s the lengthy process of constructing the […]

Daria moved to Oxford from Dnipro, Ukraine in 2015 to pursue a bachelor’s degrees in economics and finance. During her undergraduate career, Daria traveled to Germany for study abroad and language immersion, to Poland to intern for a non-profit, and to China for an internship at the investment bank

Discovering a Second Family Halfway Around the World

Journey to Commencement: Daria Herasymova turns foreign exchange trip into everlasting Ole Miss experience MAY 3, 2019 BY ALI MAE WALSH When Daria Herasymova was a high school sophomore, she left Dripro, Ukraine, as a foreign-exchange student to spend her junior year 5,575 miles away at Oxford High School. She had been selected as a […]

The University of Mississippi’s McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement welcomed a new group of outstanding students from around the globe this fall, representing majors from across the university. First row from left, Albert Nylander, Hannah Newbold, Navodit Paudel, Kristina Fields, J.R. Love, Laura Martin; second row from left, Michael Mott, Allison Borst, Zachary Pugh, Joshua Baker, Kendall Walker, Curtis Hill; third row from left, Bryce Williams, Elena Bauer, Adam Franco, Arielle Rogers, Virginia Parkinson, Anna Katherine Burress, Ashley Bowen.

McLean Institute Grant Award Funds Community Engagement

Hearin Foundation provides support for research and service efforts OCTOBER 5, 2018 BY STAFF REPORT A grant from the Robert M. Hearin Support Foundation for the University of Mississippi’s McLean Institute for Public Service and Community Engagement will fund research and service aimed at increasing community and economic development in Mississippi communities. The McLean Institute […]

Senior international studies and Spanish major Caroline Bass spent the spring of 2018 studying in the Dominican Republic as part of her Croft Institute studies.

Study Abroad Gives Croft Students Experience of a Lifetime

Semester, year overseas creates global citizens out of institute’s students SEPTEMBER 26, 2018 BY SHEA STEWART Since its beginning in 1998, the Croft Institute for International Studies at the University of Mississippi has supplied students with the tools to become global citizens. Chief among these tools are acquiring a high level of proficiency in a foreign language and studying […]

At left, Cray Pennison, president of the Ole Miss Esports club, is joined by Noel Wilkin, University of Mississippi provost and executive vice chancellor, and Jason DeShong, president of MSU Esports, to announce the Esports Egg Bowl set for Sat., Oct. 13, in The Pavilion at Ole Miss. Photo by Kevin Bain.

Ole Miss Esports Ushers University into Video Game Competition World

UM, MSU announce inaugural Esports Egg Bowl for Oct. 13 SEPTEMBER 13, 2018 BY SHEA STEWART The dream goes a little something like this: A few short years down the road, several thousand fans are gathered in an arena on the University of Mississippi campus, enthralled in a game. The crowd cheers and gasps as the tension […]