skip to main content
College of Liberal Arts
University of Mississippi

Ole Miss Alumni Association Names Distinguished Alumni for 2023

Eight honored at Homecoming for achievement, service

Mary Haskell

Mary Haskell


The Ole Miss Alumni Association recognized eight distinguished alumni with its highest annual awards as part of Homecoming 2023.

University of Mississippi Alumni Hall of Fame inductees for 2023 are: Charles C. Clark (BBA 72), of Birmingham, Alabama; Carlyle “Smitty” Harris (JD 81), of Tupelo; Mary Donnelly Haskell (BM music 81), of Oxford; Stephanie J. Hickman (JD 91), of Chicago; and William Young (BBA 82, JD 84), of Dallas.

Rose Jackson Flenorl (BAEd 79), of Cordova, Tennessee, received the Alumni Service Award for service to the university and the Alumni Association over an extended period. Lauren Lyles-Stolz (BSPhSc 13, PharmD 16), of Alexandria, Virginia, received the Outstanding Young Alumni Award, which honors alumni who have shown exemplary leadership throughout their first 15 years of alumni status.

Langston Rogers, of Oxford, received the Honorary Alumni Award, which recognizes individuals who, though not graduates of the university, have consistently demonstrated extraordinary commitment, support, dedication, loyalty, leadership or service that has enriched the substance of and contributed to the advancement of the university’s or Alumni Association’s mission, reputation or prestige.

“These inductees have all made Ole Miss proud with their accomplishments in their careers and their service to the university and their communities,” said Kirk Purdom, the association’s CEO. “We are happy to have the opportunity to recognize and honor them at part of Homecoming.”

The Alumni Association hosted a gala for the honorees on Friday (Oct. 26) in the Gertrude C. Ford Ballroom at The Inn at Ole Miss.

The honoree in the College of Liberal Arts is Mary Donnelly Haskell (BM music 81).

A singer and actress, Haskell was crowned Miss University and Miss Mississippi in 1977. After moving to Los Angeles, she began building television and theatrical careers on the West Coast, starring in productions of “Annie Get Your Gun,” “Barnum” and “Seven Brides for Seven Brothers” as well as many television series episodes and more than 20 TV movies. More recently, she co-starred in the Emmy Award-winning musical “Dolly Parton’s Christmas on the Square.” She has released three studio albums and four personalized children’s music CDs.

Haskell has served on the board of directors for the Ole Miss Alumni Association and the UM Foundation. She serves on the Ford Center Advisory Board and is a member and past chairman of the Ole Miss Women’s Council for Philanthropy.

She is married to her college sweetheart, Sam Haskell (BA 77). Together they co-chaired the university’s MomentUM capital campaign and were awarded the 2023 Concerto Award by the university and Ford Center for their commitment to the arts.

“I am humbled to join this distinguished circle of almost 50 years of honorees; varied legacies, all born from a love of Ole Miss,” Haskell said.

Read about all eight the honorees.