College of Liberal Arts

University of Mississippi

University Museum to Host Mississippi Collegiate Art Competition Through March 6

Some 105 works of art will be displayed at the University of Mississippi Museum as it hosts the 2010 Mississippi Collegiate Art Competition exhibition Feb. 6-March 6. An opening reception and awards ceremony is scheduled for 2-4 p.m. Feb. 6 at the museum, located at Fifth Street and University Avenue. Regular hours of operation are 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday.

“Juror Michael Aurbach, professor of fine art at Vanderbilt  University, selected the pieces from 1,199 entries in 11 of 13 possible categories,” said Durant Thompson, assistant professor of art and coordinator of the event. “He will select Best in Show and give three awards for excellence and as many as 10 Juror’s Awards that designate superior achievement in a particular medium.”

Museum Director William Pittman Andrews said the museum welcomes the opportunity to host competition that showcases the prodigious visual arts talent being produced in Mississippi.

“This exhibit is often the earliest foray into professional exhibition for many college students and a very important tradition in that it allows students to examine their work among the work of their peers,” Andrews said. “Because it’s a competitive exhibition, it’s exciting by nature. We’re looking forward to seeing what has developed since the last statewide collegiate art show.”

The Mississippi Collegiate Art Competition is an annual juried contest open to student artists at colleges and universities throughout the state. Entries are submitted as high-resolution images and labeled according to school, category, the student’s last name, number and title. Categories include clay arts, computer imagery, drawing, fiber arts, glass arts, graphic design, metal arts, mixed media, painting, photography, printmaking, time-based media and sculpture.

A juror outside the state reviews all entries anonymously and selects pieces for inclusion in the exhibition.

Participating institutions include UM, Delta State University, Belhaven University, Jackson State University, Millsaps College, William Carey University, Mississippi University for Women, Mississippi Valley State University, Mississippi College and Mississippi State University.

For more information, contact Durant Thompson at 662-915-5828 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or William Pittman Andrews at 662-915-7073 or This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .