College of Liberal Arts

University of Mississippi

Music Professor Authors Book On Composer Leon Kirchner

Dr. Robert Riggs

Dr. Robert Riggs, professor of music at the University of Mississippi,  recently published a book on the life and music of contemporary American composer Leon Kirchner (1919-2009).  His book appeared in the distinguished Eastman Studies in Music series, published by the University of Rochester Press.   On November 1 he will travel to New York City for a book reading and signing, sponsored by the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center at the Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts in the Rose Building.   Last summer Riggs presented a research paper on Kirchner’s music at the International Conference on Music Since 1900 at Lancaster University in the UK.

Read more about the book here.

 The video below allows you to listen to Five Pieces for Piano (1987) by Leon Kirchner.