skip to main content

College of Liberal Arts

University of Mississippi

Art Professor Betty Crouther Receives IHL Award

UM art historian named diversity educator

Trustee Shane Hooper, Dr. Betty J. Crouther, Associate Professor of Art, Dr. Morris Stocks, Provost, and Trustee Aubrey Patterson, President of the Board of Trustees.

Trustee Shane Hooper, Dr. Betty J. Crouther, associate professor of art, Dr. Morris Stocks, Provost, and Trustee Aubrey Patterson.

The Mississippi Board of Trustees of the State Institutions of Higher Learning held its 2015 Diversity celebration by recognizing campus and community leaders for the impact they have made in advancing diversity and encouraging understanding and respect.

The Board honored faculty from each of Mississippi’s public universities for advancing diversity at their institutions. The honoree at the University of Mississippi is Dr. Betty J. Crouther, associate professor of art.

Professor Crouther teaches courses in the history of art covering chronological periods in early modern, African, and American art history.

She has published articles in the International Review of African American Art, SECAC Review, and MUSE that focus primarily on iconography and African American art. She has chaired and co-chaired sessions and presented papers at the Southeastern College Art Association and the College Art Association conferences, James A. Porter Colloquium and American Visions Symposium. Dr. Crouther has attended professional development seminars in India, Ghana, and New York City. In 1994 she received the Excellence in Teaching Award from the Southeastern College Art Conference.

Professor Crouther holds a bachelor’s degree in art education from Jackson State University, Mississippi, a Master of Fine Arts degree from The University of Mississippi, and the Ph.D. in art history from the University of Missouri. She has taught at Lincoln University, Jefferson City, Missouri, Jackson State University, Mississippi, and is Associate Professor at the University of Mississippi.

Read about the other 2015 IHL awardees>>